Posted in In The Media, WP Press This

This text line is helping teens talk about mental health without saying a word

To learn more about Crisis Text Line or to apply to be a crisis counselor, visit here.

If you want to talk to someone or are experiencing suicidal thoughts, text the Crisis Text Line at 741-741 or call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-8255. For international resources, this list is a good place to start.

Source: This text line is helping teens talk about mental health without saying a word

*UPDATE*

I’ve recently been made aware of an additional resource for help for those struggling with depression and substance abuse.

You can find help here: Depression and Substance Abuse | DrugReHab.com

Save

*ADDITIONAL UPDATE*

I’ve had another center reach out to me and I wanted to share it with you.  It’s called Addiction Center, and can be found here: Experience life without addiction | addictioncenter.com/ They will help you find a center where you can get help.

Posted in Tech Stuff

Tech Tuesday

I got this email the other day, from Microsoft. 

When account upgrades begin at the end of June, you will no longer be able to receive email sent to your Out‍look‍.‍com account in Windows Live Mail 2012.

 

This makes me sad.  And annoyed.  I’ve been using Windows Live Mail (formerly Outlook Express) for 20 years now.  It’s a great program.  And it baffles me that Microsoft won’t upgrade it.  Instead, it’s going to get rid of it*.  For something that doesn’t work as well, I might add.  I’ve tried the mail app in Windows 10 and find it to be slow and rather clunky.  I should add, on another computer, because there ain’t no way Win10 is getting installed on my desktop computer. 

*I should note, Microsoft says they’re not going to totally eliminate the program … yet, just that your Outlook and Hotmail accounts won’t work with it anymore.  Guess how long it’ll take Gmail to decide not to work with Windows Live Mail anymore either?

This is what I don’t understand.  You come up with a great product, people love it, they use it regularly, for years, and then you get rid of said product for something that people don’t like nearly as much and that doesn’t work nearly as well.  Nobody does three cheers for downgrading.  I’m just sayin’. 

I have a ton of email accounts, Hotmail, Outlook, Gmail, even some Yahoo.  Windows Live Mail was awesome in that I could monitor all my email (except Yahoo) from a single central location.  Now I won’t be able to do that anymore. 

I’ve tried Thunderbird, and while it’s great with Gmail, I don’t want to use it with my Outlook accounts as it downloads everything off the server onto my computer, and I don’t want that.  I’ve tried the desktop version of Outlook for my Outlook and Hotmail accounts, but it doesn’t allow me to see all my email from all my accounts in a single pane.  So, I can’t simply check all unread mail, I have to open each account individually.  That’s a pain.  Most other desktop email clients I looked at just didn’t offer what I need and seem to be geared toward a business application. 

So far I’m looking at Mailbird.  It has a lot of really nice features.  I really like all the apps they connect you with – Facebook, Twitter, Wunderlist, ToDoIst, Google Calendar, the list goes on and on.  Being the app-happy fiend that I am, that sits pretty nice with me, actually.  And I suppose I don’t mind paying for an email service that offers so much, although Mailbird is free when you have 3 or fewer email accounts to handle.  They work with Outlook, Hotmail, Gmail, even Yahoo.  And probably some others I’m not aware of.  However, I’m finding the font in the sidebar to be uncomfortably small with no way to adjust it, and no way to distinguish the different email accounts when you have several.  Like, you can’t change the color or avatar image or anything like that.  For now though, that’s likely the one I’ll end up with simply for all that it offers.  I’ll live with the too-small font to have all my email in a single location. 

Microsoft, I have to tell you, I’ve been a pretty loyal user since I first heard about you more than 20-25 years ago.  But, as of this year, you are BIG TIME on my poopy list.  And I’m aboutthisclose to publically calling you a naughty name. 

If you’ve been using Windows Live Mail, what alternatives are you looking at to replace it? 

All rights reserved by Vanessence