Posted in 2019 NanoPoblano

2019 NanoPoblano Post #7

So, here’s a post that’s more on the difficult side for me to write – journaling and/or brain dumping for mental health. 

Mental health is a serious issue for a lot of people.  Even for those not diagnosed with a specific issue like ADD, depression, or something on the spectrum, there can be mental health challenges that can have an impact on our daily lives. 

For me, it hit hard last year when my blog friend Minaxi died, suddenly.  She died right around my brother’s birthday, during a “milestone” anniversary of his death.  I was already trying to “brace for impact” for that week, when I learned of Minaxi’s death. 

Needless to say, I felt overwhelmed.  I also realized that I’d not been dealing well with lots of things, for a long, very long, time. 

All that stuff builds up, it festers, it impacts you in ways you can’t even imagine.  Realizing I was an empath, I learned I am pretty good with other people’s feelings, but horrible with my own.  I can help other people navigate and understand their own issues, but when it comes to my own, I freeze like a deer in the headlights until I’m absolutely gobsmacked by the impact of them. 

So, I’ve been trying to untangle that mess and I learned that journaling can be a wonderful form of therapy.  It can be targeted and specific to a time, place, person, or event.  Unsent letters can help a lot here.  Writing about the wounds can help cleanse and heal them, help us get past them.  Yes, it’s scary, and I know that personally.  This is one of the more frightening things I have to face, and if you knew some of the things I’ve faced, you know how huge that statement is.  Staring down the barrel of my own emotions is terrifying for me.  I push them down and bury them for a reason, and digging them all up again won’t be any more pleasant than it is for any other body that gets disinterred.  Nobody wants to see, or smell, that, especially me.

Nevertheless, the work must be done and journaling is a great way to begin it, and a lot less expensive than a therapist!  I even picked up a journal expressly for this purpose, and I call it my “Mourning Pages.”  I give my journals people names, too, so it feels like I’m writing to a pen pal or a friend who lives far away.

Toward that end, below are some links to articles that might help you also on your journey to healing. 

 

Writing Out the Storm: Journal Your Emotions

7 Ways to Face Your Grief and Move Forward

The Negative Impact of Not Feeling Your Feelings

Why Grief Should Have a Place in Our Homes

6 Things My Therapist Taught Me to Stop Bottling Up My Emotions

A Powerful Journaling Tool – The Unsent Letter

The Unsent Letter Guide

 

__________________________________________________

 

Previous post entries:

  1. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #1

  2. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #2

  3. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #3

  4. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #4

  5. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #5

  6. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #6

 

Previous sharing entries:

  1. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #1

  2. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #2

  3. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #3

  4. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #4

  5. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #5

  6. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #6

  7. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #7

 

__________________________________________________

nanopoblano2019

All rights reserved by Vanessence

*****

Nano Poblano

CheerPeppers WordPress Reader List

#NanoPoblano2019, NanoPoblano, NanoPoblano2019, CheerPeppers, #CheerPeppers, #NaBloPoMo, TinyPeppers, #NanoPoblano, #TeamTinyPeppers,

*****

8 thoughts on “2019 NanoPoblano Post #7

  1. So sorry for the loss of your friend, which is always a sad and shocking time, and especially hard while in remembrance of your brother’s passing.
    They always question whether people you meet through blogging can be real friends. I say yes, they can. I had a wonderful ‘soul sister’ who I never met in person, only online. When she suddenly passed away it was so hard – left a big hole to miss hearing from her each day.
    I did write about it all in one of my journals. I’d never post those, but it does help to write down all the emotions and remember the good times, along with the sad times. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kindness. 🙂 It really is hard to lose a friend – in face-to-face land or blog land. When we engage with someone, it doesn’t really matter the medium, it’s about the connection.

      Thank you also for the confirmation that journaling all those feelings really does help. ❤ I need to hear that. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.