Posted in 2019 NanoPoblano

2019 NanoPoblano Post #2

Last post I talked about Bullet Journaling as a way to get my journaling feet wet.  Snippets here and there are pretty easy to accomplish and it keeps a record of your days.  But, journaling can be so much more than that.  I’ve been reading a lot about it in the last year or so. 

Everything I’ve come across stressed the value and importance of journaling.  The links below are just a sampling of some of the articles I’ve read, to give you some idea. 

Here’s what’s been strange for me.  Years ago, when I was a teen, I kept a journal.  Notebook paper in a 3-ring binder.  Most of my teen years were captured on paper.  Then, when I was 18, I got some bee in my bonnet that keeping diaries was childish and since I was now an adult, I needed to let go of childish things.  So, I burned it.  All 600+ pages. 

In the years since then, I’ve gone through a lot of things.  Some joyful, some traumatic.  None of it recorded.  I feel like I really need to write things down, and for the life of me, I feel like I don’t know where to begin.  Isn’t that silly?  It’s silly.  I used to write like it was breathing, and now I feel clueless and lost.  That is also silly.

As with all thousand-mile-journeys, I begin with small steps, baby steps, a single step.  It is not yet a daily habit, but hopefully will be soon. 

How about you?  Do you keep a journal?  Do you wish you did? 

~Vanessa

 

  1. Journal Therapy

  2. How Writing Regularly Changed My Life (and How You Can Get Started)

  3. Why You Should Keep a Journal (and How to Start Yours)

  4. The Psychological Benefits of Writing Regularly

  5. Journaling: Everything You Need To Know To Start A Journal

  6. A Beginner’s Guide to Keeping a Journal

  7. Why You Should Keep A Journal And How To Get Started

  8. Journaling: Why You Should Keep a Journal & How To Journal Effectively (includes examples)

  9. Why Every Man Should Keep a Handwritten Journal

(Those last links because what’s good for the goose is good for the gander 😉 )

__________________________________________________

 

Previous post entries:

  1. 2019 NanoPoblano Post #1

 

Previous sharing entries:

  1. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #1

  2. NanoPoblano2019 Sharing #2

 

 

__________________________________________________

nanopoblano2019

All rights reserved by Vanessence

*****

Nano Poblano

CheerPeppers WordPress Reader List

#NanoPoblano2019, NanoPoblano, NanoPoblano2019, CheerPeppers, #CheerPeppers, #NaBloPoMo, TinyPeppers, #NanoPoblano, #TeamTinyPeppers,

*****

22 thoughts on “2019 NanoPoblano Post #2

  1. Thanks for this, and for the links. I also feel an urge to record things, but have struggled for years with how to start….and maybe one little bit every day is the way to do it, whether I “feel like it” or not.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have found that making little “bullet points” help to just get a little something down, and only take a moment. I can expand later if I feel more like it and the bullet point serves as a reminder. 🙂

      Like

  2. I know I mentioned I don’t know what happened to my other diaries, except the one. Wish I still had them, and also all the other writings on paper I did long ago. Why did I get rid of them? I know they were silly, but still …
    One thing I did do, later on, was try to think of all the memories I could, whether when I was a kid, or even when grown up, and I wrote down all I could remember about it. At least that was something and a start to get back into the writing habit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.