Posted in Personal

Contemplative

It’s been a bit of a thoughtful day for me.  A day of a little reflection.  You see, this is the anniversary of the day that I left my home state and had to move to another.  Yep, it happened on a Friday the 13th, too, wouldn’t you know!  LOL 

So I’ve been remembering – people I used to know, relatives I haven’t seen since, places I once lived.  As I was writing in my journal I noted, “And now I don’t belong in CA.  Haven’t for years.  Which is sad, in a way, to no longer belong where you come from.”

I don’t know – the line kind of struck me in an odd way after I wrote it.  I have always struggled with “belonging.”  I certainly don’t belong where I am, and I have never really had a place where I “fit.”  You know how some people just go with their place?  Like they were made for each other?  I’ve always wondered what that’s like. 

On the bright side, I think this is how I’m supposed to feel, as a Believer.  My home is not here – this is more like a camping trip, or a mission trip – my home lies elsewhere, and I’ve heard I have a mansion waiting with my name on it.  Surely I’ll get to paint all the walls pink and yellow there!  Open-mouthed smile

Do anniversaries make you thoughtful, too?

All rights reserved by Vanessence

13 thoughts on “Contemplative

  1. Wow, Ness, I’m so glad that I came to your blog when I had time on my hands. You sure kicked up the gears and I’m so happy! Yes, I’m very sensitive to anniversaries. January 19, we’ll have lived in AZ for 11 years and I’m happy to call it home. We moved soooooooo much (14 times in our first 14 years of marriage) that I’m just glad to be settled! Have you read the book Grandfather’s Journey? http://www.amazon.com/Grandfathers-Journey-Allen-Say/dp/0547076800/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421530923&sr=8-1&keywords=allen+say Pick it up at the library, I know you’ll like it.

    Like

    1. Aww, thank you for your sweet kindness. *hugs*

      Wow, January for you, too? Must be something about that month. Fourteen times! Oh my goodness! I’ve moved a lot, maybe a couple dozen, in my whole life, but not 14 in 14 years. I bet you are an EXPERT packer! It’s nice to have a spot, isn’t it? What a blessing that is! I’m so happy for you. 🙂

      I jokingly say I’m looking for my ‘pot – like a plant needs a pot, and also a spot on the sill. 😉

      I’ll see if I can get that book. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

      Like

        1. Arizona is nice, but hot. I’m pretty sure there must be a town there called Repent. 😉

          And tarantulas! Eeeek!

          I’ve only been through the AZ along HWY 40, but the country I saw was gorgeous. There is a rawness to its beauty that is breathtaking. It’s one of those places I definitely want to get back to one day. And see the Grand Canyon!

          Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh, the fringes, yes. 🙂 I think they should start using street names and house numbers there. 😉 I’m pretty used to it now myself, but every so often, I wonder what it’s like to just fit, instead of feeling like a square peg in a round hole. Some day!

      Thanks, Spark. It’s nice to know there is company here in these fringes. 😀 *hugs*

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.