Posted in Drafts Folder

A sigh’s not just a sigh

Apparently, I sigh a lot.  There are times I’ll be sitting at my computer, reading something, and from across the room my husband will ask me what’s wrong.  “Huh?  Nothing!  Why?”

“You sighed, so I figured something was wrong.”

It was a relief, actually, to come across this article about the mechanisms of the sigh.  I’m normal!  Well, you know.  Sometimes. 

But, I’m not a mouthbreather.  I’m not depressed.  Nothing’s wrong.  Usually nothing’s wrong.  Sometimes I’m frustrated because I forgot to do something, but for the most part, I’m good.  Whew!  *sigh*

 

Californian scientists have identified the source of the sigh. It is not just a response to sadness, depression or despair: it is, also, they report, a life-sustaining reflex that helps preserve lung function.

A sigh’s not just a sigh – it’s a fundamental life-sustaining reflex | Science | The Guardian

All rights reserved by Vanessence

9 thoughts on “A sigh’s not just a sigh

What Are Your Thoughts?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.