Posted in 2016 NaBloPoMo, 2016 NanoPoblano

NanoPoblano Day #6

All rights reserved by Rarasaur

Sunday, lovely Sunday.  A day for rest and relaxation.  My husband calls them “Pre-Monday,” as it’s also a day of preparation for the upcoming week.  Get the work clothes laid out, that sort of thing.  So Sunday also has it’s downside.

The soap I made for him turned out nice.  The ladies shaving bars I was experimenting on are sitting behind me on the kid’s school table, smelling like pineapple candy.  Every time I lean back I can catch a sweet whiff.  I really need to put them into their basket but they smell so pretty I don’t want to, lol. 

I’m still trying to think of a possible name for a soaping business.  It’s too easy for me to be “cutesy” so I’m trying really hard to avoid anything like that.  I’m also debating whether or not I want a name that’s … how can I explain?  When you go to the store, you see soap, and almost none of the names have anything to do with soap, you know?  Dove, Ivory, Caress, Dial, etc.  And all those soaps are produced by larger corporations that you don’t even think of, names like Procter&Gamble, Johnson&Johnson, Gillette, Unilever, etc.  When I look around at soapers, I see some names that are soap related, names with words like suds or bubbles, things like that.  Ivory is only one soap of many produced by Procter&Gamble, and do I want a business named like a business like P&G, or a soap like Ivory?  These are the sorts of things I mull over.

Which also reminds me, for the record, most of the soaps I just listed aren’t even soap, they’re detergents, which is why handmade soap is so much better for your skin.  😀

Some of my son’s birthday presents have arrived already, yay!  Last year he didn’t get a present on his birthday because, while the Post Office said they’d delivered it, there was nothing in my box, and what a fiasco trying to sort that one out. 

I took some pictures for my Monday garden post, and wouldn’t you know it, I forgot to capture a specific angle I usually get.  D’oh!  By the time I realized that, the sun had already gone down so there was no quick running out to take it.  Tomorrow, I guess, right?  The garden should still be there.  😉

Happy Sunday!

All rights reserved by Vanessence

*****
#NanoPoblano
https://cheerpeppers.wordpress.com/
NanoPoblano, NanoPoblano2016, CheerPeppers, #CheerPeppers, #NaBloPoMo, TinyPeppers, #NanoPoblano, #TeamTinyPeppers,
*****

23 thoughts on “NanoPoblano Day #6

  1. You want a business name and a brand name. They can be the same thing but it sounds like you want separate ones (which as you pointed out is common). Plus with a brand name, you can target it towards people who would want to buy soaps while leaving the business name professional sounding.

    Like

    1. Yes, I think you are nailing is, Bradley! A business name is one thing, but with making so many different kinds of soap, do I want a brand name for each one? Sounds like a nightmare. Do I want to brand a recipe? Possibly. And round and round I go. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes , the garden will still be there tomorrow! 🌿 Good luck naming your soap business Ness, you know when you least expect it inspiration will strike. And you’ll be ready for it. Have fun. ❤️ xo

    Like

  3. I’m so excited to see what you come up with. I’m sure whatever it is, it will be wonderful 🙂 And I’m already dreaming of the day when I can browse through all your yummy soaps 🙂

    Like

    1. Aww, what a sweet thing to say! Thank you so much! You just made my week, Suzanne!

      I’ve thought about using it, or even my soaping blog name (soapinessence, can you believe someone else is using it? I had no idea!) but I haven’t been sure exactly which direction I want to go, name wise. Thank you for the suggestion! It honestly hadn’t occurred to me! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome, Vanessa. I’m glad that I made your week. 🙂 ❤

        I’m sorry that someone else is already using soapinessence. I’ve run into glitches like that myself with the name I had chosen for a crocheting/knitting business. “Annie’s Grannies” was the name I had chosen. But, it worked out that they did me a favor by having it in use already. I realized it would have put the business into a box, limiting me to granny-square based items. While I wanted the primary focus to be granny square-based items, I didn’t want that to be the only thing. This glitch gave me more time to think about things before I was locked into a name that wouldn’t truly fit the business ideas that I had.

        There is just so much to think about while starting up a business. Very often what seems to be an obstacle is a good thing and gives us a chance to further refine our ideas.

        Have a blessed night! 🙂

        Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

