Posted in Garden, GardenNess, In Bloom

Monday In Bloom

I forgot to grab a screenshot of the weather off my phone, but I did find one from the daily weather record that I keep.  Man oh man was it muggy!  Blech!  I was just dripping after deadheading only a few plants Sunday.  Thankfully, the sun wasn’t beating down on me, too. 
image

The pansies are all gone now, as are the marigolds.  I went ahead and pulled them all because they were more dead than alive.  We did have a frost warning the other night, and while I don’t think it got down to freezing, it did get too cold for some of the plants.
10-16-2016 GW24 (4)
10-16-2016 GW24 (5)

I don’t think this bodes well for the evergreen nearest our unit.
10-16-2016 GW24 (9)

The polka dot plants got a severe cutting back.  They survived the near-frost but were so gangly and unattractive with their dead branches, so I cut those off.  I think they’ll do well before freezing temps set in.
10-16-2016 GW24 (10)10-16-2016 GW24 (16)

The side patch is still holding strong.  It got some good rain this past week, and it’s close enough to the building that it gets a bit of “insulation” from the freezing temperatures.  Plus, I think the bricks gather heat from the sun during the day so it stays a bit warmer here. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (15)10-16-2016 GW24 (12)

I think this pot must be in the perfect spot.  It’s sheltered, not a lot of direct sun, close enough to the edge of the patio to get some rain.  The plants in this one are just thriving, still. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (42)

My adored Dusty Miller and purple Sweet Alyssum combination.  I think I’m trying to drink in as much as I can, because Winter’s coming.  I’m hoping the pictures will give me something to cling to.
10-16-2016 GW24 (11)10-16-2016 GW24 (19)

I was going to get rid of the mums, because they were so dead.  But when I looked closer, I could see lots of tiny buds underneath the dead blooms on both plants.  So I gave them each a good haircut.  We’ll see what happens – maybe they’ll have another bloom before frost!
10-16-2016 GW24 (20)10-16-2016 GW24 (36)

The potato vine sure is getting colorful.
10-16-2016 GW24 (22)

The overly friendly Artemisia, still making friends.  It just might make it out of the garden before frost sets in, lol.
10-16-2016 GW24 (30)

The Twins, lavender and sage. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (34)10-16-2016 GW24 (35)

I don’t know how long I stood there, trying to get a shot of the bees.  I swear, every time I walk outside, there are at least half a dozen bees that I can see flying all around the sage plant, busily buzzing away.  Lots of bumbles and some honey, which is a big YAY! because it means there’s a hive of honey bees around here not too far away.  They are all hustling now, trying to reap the last bits of pollen.  They all seem to really love the sage plant.  I did manage to finally catch one of the bumbles in this picture, he’s near the middle. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (1)

Another bumble! 
10-16-2016 GW24 (40)

This pot – it looks awkward the way the Sweet Alyssum is overflowing down the side, but I love the combination of colors and textures.  You can see Autumn’s fingerprints here. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (37)

I just loved the combination here with the spiky pink and purple flowers together. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (39)

More Autumnal pictures. 
10-16-2016 GW24 (45)
10-16-2016 GW24 (46)
10-16-2016 GW24 (43)
10-16-2016 GW24 (44)

And that’s how my garden is surviving Autumn so far.  How’s your coming along?

All rights reserved by Vanessence

To see all my pictures from the garden this week,

you can click either the link or the image below.

Thanks for looking!

2016 Garden Weekly 24 | Flickr

2016 Garden Weekly 24//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

 

11 thoughts on “Monday In Bloom

  1. Still looking good! My garden is in dire need of being cleaned out, but rain and company and general laziness have kept me from completing that particular chore. I do, however, have spring bulbs to plant, so I better get out there! Have a wonderful week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Spring bulbs! I so love those!

      I know what you mean – general laziness, lol. Some days I just look outside at the little garden I have and think, “Yep, still there! And will be tomorrow, too.” 😀

      Have an awesome week, too, hon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So lovely Ness, there’s still plenty of color and life in your garden and I spotted that elusive bee!
    I posted a pic of my pansies for you on one of my recent posts! My garden is ever so slowly taking shape.
    Take care my friend. Hope the week ahead is a happy one for you. Hugs ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you sweetheart!

      Yes, those bees sure have been busy! I thought they’d be gone by now but we’ve had a bit of warmer weather lately so they’re still here in abundance. Yay!

      I saw your pansies, they are gorgeous! I love them! I love seeing your garden come together! *hugs* ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks Ness, enjoy the warmer weather and the bees. 🙂 Here in my garden the pansies are still flourishing and so full of color. I’m glad you loved them. We worked on mum’s garden on the weekend, it was such an overgrown mess. Spent hours just digging out weeds, it felt so good to get my hands in the earth. Love and hugs to you. xo

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It was so warm yesterday the kids wanted to turn on the A/C! Today is much cooler, tons of storms. Whew!

          I bet it felt good to get in there and get your hands dirty! Sometimes, just feeling the good earth between my fingers feels almost … sacred. I don’t know how else to describe it. It’s like connecting with something so basic and life-affirming. I’m glad you were able to get some things accomplished that you wanted to. 🙂 *hugs* ❤

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Glad it’s cooled down for you. Here it’s a gorgeous sunny Thursday. I know what you mean about sacred earth Ness and I completely agree. I was out in my garden again this morning, pulling out weeds with my bare hands, no gloves, and it felt so good. Very grounding. Big hug to you my dear friend. xo

            Like

  3. Wow you garden is so full of color…autumnal colors too. It looks amazing…I love the lavendar & sage and that white plant is so pretty. I’m not a gardener so I have a huge appreciation for gardeners, I find it utterly fascinating how well you can grow plants…I either over or under water them! Love, love, love your Halloween header theme and your whole site!!! So fun!! 🙂 Here is New England the trees are absolutely bursting with autumn colors…it’s so pretty!! I should take some photos and share!! Have a fabulous rest of your week and keep enjoying your garden! xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you so much, Deb! 🙂 I am so envious of your New England Autumns! It’s one of my personal goals, to visit NE in the Autumn just to see the amazing beauty up there! Yes, pictures!

      I hope you have a lovely week, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

        1. One day … my husband and I both, it’s one of those things we really want to do before we leave this Earth. 🙂 New England in the Autumn. I guess that’s what they call a bucket list. 🙂

          Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

