Posted in 19-Somethin’ Challenge

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 22

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge | McClendon Villa19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

This challenge is prompted by the song 19-Somethin’ by Mark Wills. You can hear the song here: https://youtu.be/UhSCeItgUEc  
The following questions are taken from the various lines in the song.  There are also a few random questions thrown into the mix to make it a post a day for the month – 30 posts.

22. When did you first live on your own? Did you buy or rent your first home? Do you have a picture of it? Please share it if you do.

I first lived on my own when my ex and I got married.  We rented an apartment.  So, technically I guess I never lived on my own until after my divorce.

All rights reserved by Vanessence

7 thoughts on “September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 22

  1. I’m sorry that your marriage didn’t work out.
    How did you like living on your own afterwards? The other “d” word will likely cause me to be on my own at some point. I am wondering how I will handle it after living with people in the same house for so long. What did you do to cope with being the only one there?

    Thank you for playing along with our 19-Somethin’ challenge. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I realized that other than having to take the garbage cans to the curb, nothing else really changed. I mean, I had to get a job, but housework-wise, nothing really changed. He never did anything around the house. That was “woman’s work.”

      Being alone was never really an issue for me. I am really introverted, and also spent a lot of time alone as a child, so being alone after the divorce was really more of a relief than anything. Being with people who hate you is a different form of torture, you know?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yes, I know that one well. Being with people that hate you is way worse than being alone.
        I am introverted, too, and extremely shy. I don’t necessarily like being alone, but I do like quiet. I can’t focus if there is a lot going on around here. Get me in a busy retail scene, and I’m worthless.
        I am sorry that he treated you so badly. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Busy retail! Oh, that makes me chuckle. I absolutely cannot go to a mall at Christmas time! I’m pretty good at tuning things out when I need to, but the chaos of a Christmas mall just … I can’t do it! Thank goodness for Internet shopping!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Yes, thank goodness for Internet shopping!
            I’m not very good at tuning things out most of the time. If it gets to be too much, I just cannot think or function. It gets me very agitated because it is like a whirlwind going on in my head. It makes me physically dizzy. It turns me into a mental Dizz-master, too. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

            1. That’s exactly how I feel at Christmas malls. My husband, he can’t go to places like Walmart because the same thing happens to him and then he gets these awful headaches. I don’t get headaches, but I end up clenching my fists so tight from stress I nearly puncture my palms with my nails. Best to just avoid it all the way around!

              Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

