Posted in 19-Somethin’ Challenge

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 17

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge | McClendon Villa19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

This challenge is prompted by the song 19-Somethin’ by Mark Wills. You can hear the song here: https://youtu.be/UhSCeItgUEc  
The following questions are taken from the various lines in the song.  There are also a few random questions thrown into the mix to make it a post a day for the month – 30 posts.

 

17. Do you remember where you were and/or what you were doing when the Space Shuttle Challenger exploded? This happened on 28 January 1986.  Were there any big events going on in your personal life at the time?

I was at work, and had been so caught up in wedding preparations that I didn’t even know Challenger was launching, until I got back from my lunch break and was told the news.  It was crushing.  My wedding (to my ex) was the weekend that immediately followed and that was the only topic of conversation amongst the guests, understandably. 

All rights reserved by Vanessence

5 thoughts on “September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 17

  1. I’m sorry that the marriage didn’t work out. Did everything go as planned with your wedding itself as far as glitches, I mean? I’ve heard horror stories and our wedding didn’t turn out anything like we’d originally planned. It was kind of taken over by others and we just rolled along with it. I wish we’d put our feet down and did it ourselves, our way. But, oh well.

    Events like the Challenger tragedy, 9/11, etc., do seem to take over the conversation in every venue for awhile after they happen.

    Thanks for participating in the 19-Somethin’ challenge. Have a blessed Sunday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There were no glitches, to my recollection, but like you, that wedding was completely taken over by others. I felt more like an unwelcome guest than the bride, lol. There were many red flags I should have caught, looking back, but I guess I was just too naive at the time to really grasp them.

      Events like the Challenger, yes, they are so huge when they happen, they take over the collective conversation of a city or nation.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Unwelcome guest” is a good phrase for it. I was considered an outsider. Their loss. It is amazing the red flags that we see and ignore because we either hope that they go away or that we can overcome them. We need to learn to heed those red flags across all aspects of our lives.

        Here’s hoping there are no big things to cause those kinds of conversations anymore!

        Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

