Posted in 19-Somethin’ Challenge

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 13

September 19-Somethin’ Challenge | McClendon Villa19-Somethin_Sidebar_Button

This challenge is prompted by the song 19-Somethin’ by Mark Wills. You can hear the song here: https://youtu.be/UhSCeItgUEc  
The following questions are taken from the various lines in the song.  There are also a few random questions thrown into the mix to make it a post a day for the month – 30 posts.

 

13. Did any of the men in your family have big sideburns? What did you think of it then? What do you think of it now, looking back?

My father had a “handlebar” mustache and bushy sideburns when I was a girl, after my parents got divorced.  I think he thought the ladies liked it. 

All rights reserved by Vanessence

7 thoughts on “September 19-Somethin’ Challenge Day 13

  1. YAY! The post came back! I tried responding to this one last night. My comment wouldn’t leave the screen, and then the whole post disappeared. It was apparently about the same time that you were testing the posting via email thingy.

    I imagine that some of the ladies did like it. I know that I like beards and mustaches, etc. Do you have a picture of your daddy with the handlebar mustache and bushy sideburns?

    Thanks for playing along. Have a wonderful day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is so weird! I’m glad it all came back okay!

      No, I have no pictures. We lost all our pictures a few years ago and I am no longer in contact with any of my relatives. I remember those handlebar mustaches seemed to be pretty popular back then! You have a blessed day!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so sorry there is discord and estrangement with your family. 😦 I’ve been there, too. Still am with some of them. I saw a really cool one on a dude in one of the historic South Carolina (my home state) newspapers yesterday. He was telling the young men to ignore the “Go west, young man” call, that the prettiest and best girls were there in South Carolina. 🙂
        You have a blessed day, too. Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It happens, I guess, and sometimes you just have to make the painful but necessary decision to sever ties. I’m sorry you’ve had to cope with that, too.

          I think your newspaper guy is right! I think the South – and its people – is a shining example of American values and beauty. 🙂

          Like

          1. Yes, it is bad that it happens, but it does happen. Maybe even more than we realize.
            Thank you. Our family severance was based on a lie. Unfortunately, though the estrangement with my daddy ended, I was never able to see him or my granny again before they died. Before things fully came to light, I had moved over a thousand miles away with no way back home. I know that I will see them in Heaven, though. That has to be enough for now. The others involved never cared about me in the first place, so no real loss, I guess.

            The South has its moments, that’s for sure and the natural scenery is some of the finest that I’ve seen, especially the mountains of SC in the fall. 🙂

            Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

