Posted in Thankfulness

Thankfulness

It’s the 2nd Thursday of the month, and that means it’s time for a Thankfulness post!  Once a month I try to find something outside the standard to be thankful for.  Little, overlooked things that we barely take note of anymore because they’re so much a part of our day to day lives that we don’t really think about them. 

Today I am thankful for the heating pad.  I don’t recall why I got it, or how long ago it was, but I knew it was one of those things a home should have. 

I don’t know what I did to my shoulder, but I can barely move it.  I have to keep my elbow tucked into my side, otherwise my shoulder just screams if I extend it.  That means I’ve been trying to do things with my left hand (hahahaha!) or do the T-Rex dance.  Also hysterical.  Imagine trying to iron with one arm tied to your waist!  And horror of horrors, I can barely reach into the microwave to heat up my coffee.  The door opens on the right so I’ve been trying to reach over the door to get my coffee in and out.  Which reminds me I’m also thankful for the paper towels to clean up coffee splashes!https://i1.wp.com/i5.walmartimages.com/dfw/dce07b8c-ac64/k2-_f75299c5-ef3d-4f80-85ee-408b364f175e.v1.jpg

The last couple of nights I’ve been trying to sleep with the heating pad on my shoulder.  I should try to finagle a way to put straps on it or something, because trying to keep the flat heating pad on my round shoulder, well, it’s been an adventure!  Lay down, get the heating pad in place ow ow ow ahhh now don’t move don’t move don’t move! Which of course means I wake up a few times all sweaty, and stiff from not moving, but while the pad’s on, at least my shoulder feels a little better. 

And I am super thankful for that! 

What are you thankful for this month? 

All rights reserved by Vanessence

25 thoughts on “Thankfulness

  1. Ouch, feeling your pain Ness. Glad you have your heating pad but maybe you need to have that shoulder seen to, if it gets any worse. But knowing us women you’ll probably just put up with it. If I could I’d be over there heating up that coffee for you … and sitting down for one as well with you! Take it easy. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Put up with it, lolol. Yup! Like that. 🙂 I even had my children at home so as not to go to the doctor. 😉

      I would so love to have a cuppa with you! That would be so awesome. ❤

      I'm taking it as easy as can be, thanks hon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad to hear you’re taking it easy Ness. I’ve just had my afternoon coffee (and cake 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your weekend and your shoulder’s not giving you too much grief. xo

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Oh your cake is delicious!

          Eh, shoulder’s still stiff but getting slowly better I think. I kind of figure if my arm is still attached, I’m doing okay, lol. 🙂

          Like

            1. Oh, no, no tarts yet! My husband’s birthday is in December, so we have a bit of a wait yet. 🙂 You said you were having cake, so I “joined” you in cake and coffee. 😀

              The arm is still attached, but I’m still kind of doing my best T-Rex impersonation. I think it’s healing slowly but surely. 🙂

              Liked by 1 person

                    1. And now here’s to wonderful weekends!

                      I looked up the time difference between us, and I think it’s either 14 or 15 hours, depending on Daylight Savings Time. So, right about now you’re probably thinking about what you’re going to make for dinner and enjoying the rest of your Fri afternoon and looking forward to the weekend. 🙂 So Shabbat Shalom! 😀

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. It is now, as I write this, exactly 1 AM. 🙂 I’m, unfortunately, a night owl, so while I’m feeling like it’s time for my 2nd wind, it is time for bed since I have to do that wife/mom/homemaker thing. 🙂 One more “get up” for the week and then the weekend sleep-in, yay! 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I know what you mean. I go to bed pretty late too but then have to wake with the birds to get everyone ready. Sleep tight Ness and have a great Friday. xo 🙂

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. I hope you had a good night’s rest! I think it is early Sat AM for you as I write this so hopefully you’re still having the sweetest of dreams. 🙂 xox

                      Like

                    5. Hi Vanessa, it’s 7am Sat morning now and just having a lazy cuppa in bed before my busy day begins. Hope you enjoy the rest of your Friday. Hugs to you my friend. ♡♡

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no! That sounds terrible! I do hope that you’re feeling at least a little better now. Have you tried alternating the heating pad with an ice pack? My friend, who is a nurse, introduced me to the magic of ice packs the last time I had back trouble. It worked well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, I haven’t and I should have, thank you for reminding me! You helped me remember the advice a chiropractor gave me after we had a car accident – cold, then hot; cold, then hot, repeat as needed.

      Hmm, same shoulder, too, except that was in the back near the blade. Weird if it was connected from all those years ago!

      Anyway, thanks for the reminder, Dr Spark! I’ll make myself an ice pack now. 🙂

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

