Posted in Holiday, Video

Happy Purim!

Purim Theme (9)

One of the first things I do online each day is manage the website I still maintain for the Messianic congregation my husband and I were involved with.  I clear out the inbox, forward things to the Rabbi that need his attention, update the daily verse and the Facebook page they have, etc.  In addition to the daily verse, I try to post things in celebration and remembrance of the Jewish holidays, too.  My husband and I try to observe them, also.  Not in an Orthodox way, so much as a way to honor what they mean to us as believers in Christ, Who was, at the heart of it, a Jew.

Today is Purim!

In the twelfth month, which is the month of Adar, on its thirteenth day … on the day that the enemies of the Jews were expected to prevail over them, it was turned about: the Jews prevailed over their adversaries. – Esther 9:1

And they gained relief on the fourteenth, making it a day of feasting and gladness. – Esther 9:17

[Mordecai instructed them] to observe them as days of feasting and gladness, and sending delicacies to one another, and gifts to the poor. – Esther 9:22

Purim is one of the most joyous and fun holidays on the Jewish calendar. It commemorates a time when the Jewish people living in Persia were saved from extermination.

 

In celebration of the day, one of the members of the Facebook group shared a video.  It made me laugh, so I thought I’d share it with you.

Happy Purim!

All rights reserved by Vanessence

8 thoughts on “Happy Purim!

  1. Aw, I can’t see the video. 😦 But I do remember how much fun they tried to make reading Esther and the celebration. It’s tough when it falls in the middle of the (Gentile) week, but it’s still so cool to have that sense of grace and mercy.

    Celebrate God’s mighty hand, always. 🙂

    LTY!

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

