Posted in Apps, Tech Stuff

hAPPy Monday

A reminder!  In case you didn’t get around to it during the holidays and all, because, you know, holidays.  This is your last week to make sure that you keep the free storage you have on your hotmail and/or outlook email accounts.  Microsoft is reducing the amount of free storage it’s allotting to its free accounts at the end of the month, from 15GB down to 5GB, and it’s also eliminating the free 15GB camera roll bonus many users signed up for some time ago. 

But for users who want to keep that storage, they are offering a “loyalty link” so your current level of storage can be grandfathered in when the new basic level free tiers are enacted next Monday. 

 

onedrive-uservoice-suggestion.jpg

“While we are not changing our (new) plans,” the announcement continues, it is taking another crack at clarifying the changes and making one new offer that will grandfather in some of the old limits for existing OneDrive users.

Here are the details:

  • For OneDrive customers who currently have a 15 GB free storage allotment and a 15 GB camera roll bonus, Microsoft is offering to preserve those features, but only for those who opt in using this link, which is valid until January 31, 2016.
  • All OneDrive customers with free accounts who do not opt in to the loyalty offer will see their free storage cut to 5 GB and the camera roll bonus will disappear.

Microsoft apologizes for offending OneDrive fans, but won’t restore unlimited storage | ZDNet

 

So, for those of you who have hotmail or outlook email accounts, and want to keep the current level of free storage you’re enjoying, click this link!  OneDrive Bonus Loyalty Link  Before Sunday!  Otherwise, it’ll be back down to a measly old 5GB of storage. 

All rights reserved by Vanessence

12 thoughts on “hAPPy Monday

    1. Oh no! I don’t understand! I’ve been double and triple checking all the links and they’re working as intended for me. Right now I’m on Win7/IE11 – do you suppose that has something to do with it? I don’t know why it wouldn’t work with other OSs or browsers though, hmm.

      Here are the links in standard form:

      https://preview.onedrive.com/bonus/

      I’m wondering if it’s that s in the https – I wonder if trying it in just regular http would work for you? When I try that it defaults to https.

      Here is the original article:
      http://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-apologizes-for-offending-onedrive-fans-but-wont-restore-unlimited-storage/

      The link to the OneDrive issue is near the end under, “Here are the details.”

      I hope that helps, Ludwig!

      Like

      1. Interesting. This time, on my Windows 10 laptop, the link worked. I clicked the link and received a congratulatory message. I opened OneDrive and signed out and then in with another account. Tried the link again and got a “I see you already …”. It showed my main account (at 1.3 TB – I have Office), not the one I was logged in to. I will try my Windows 7 computer again. It is a strange world.
        Thank you V for your efforts.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. You’re more than welcome, Ludwig. 🙂 I’m so glad it worked for you this time!

          I ended up going to different Chrome browsers for my alternate outlook accounts for the reason you mentioned. Seems browsers get linked to accounts these days and simply signing out doesn’t work like it used to.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m amazed so many people need that much cloud storage. Local storage is dirt cheap now.
    My first flash drive (16MB) cost me 64.99. Now, people give away 2GB drives instead of key chains and pencils. And you actually have the storage. It’s not on some server halfway across the planet.
    Baffles me. That’s all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There’s a lot of truth in what you’re saying, and Lord knows, I love me some flash drives! I have a ton and use them for lots of things.

      But I also know they fail often, and it’s pretty impossible to plug them into your phone or tablet when you’re out and about and want to show your great-grandma the pics from your recent Disneyland vacation and she doesn’t have a computer for you to plug a flash drive into. I don’t carry them with me, either, because they’re easy to lose and get damaged from getting banged around in a purse or pocket.

      Cloud storage, to my way of thinking, is more for getting stuff from your computer to your mobile devices so you always have the things you want with you, because you pretty much always have your phone. Like, if you’re blogging at work and want to upload a pic from your home computer, you can’t. unless you have the pic stored on a cloud drive somewhere. Then it’s just a matter of signing in and accessing your storage.

      There is also the ability to work with other people in a single document when it’s in the cloud, whereas you can’t do that if it’s on a flash drive. Like, if you and I were working on a story together, you could write some, then I could edit and add more, and back and forth we could go, from the cloud but not a flash drive.

      And another thing, speaking of blogging – I found that uploading photo albums to WP takes up a LOT of the storage you get on WP, so what I started doing was uploading the photo albums to the cloud and then just linking to that in my posts. So, there’s that.

      The flash drives give you more privacy, as long as you don’t lose your drive, and it’s a good idea to have things locally, too, no doubt about that. It’s going to depend on what your needs are and how mobile you are, I think.

      Does that help with the bafflement?

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

