Posted in Apps, Tech Stuff

hAPPy Monday

It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood, isn’t it?  Man, that makes me miss Mr Rogers, big time.  It’s chilly and rainy here, but that’s okay – God’s watering the garden.  Or, as a lady I once knew called rain, it’s a liquid sunshine day.  Smile

I’m still playing with task-oriented apps.  My latest is one called Wunderlist

 Wunderlist | To-do list, Reminders, Errands – App of the Year!

What I like about it is that it’s a fast, clean app.  There aren’t a lot of bells and whistles to weigh it down and make it slow to start.  Since all it does is lists, there isn’t a whole lot of other stuff to get in the way. 

I decided to consolidate all the lists I had amongst other apps I’ve tried out, and realized I have one really big to-do list.  *sigh*  And here I was hoping I’d have a lot of duplicates.  But no! 

So far, I like that it’s fast and simple.  I like that I can add “partners-in-crime” as it were, like my kids or my husband, if there are things I’d like them to address.  I like that there are reminders I can utilize.  I like that it comes in a lot of different flavors – Android, Apple, Windows, Web, even Kindle Fire.  So even if I had friends who used, say, an iPhone, I could share a list with them without any extra hoops to jump through. 

Yes, Evernote has many of these features, too.  And I’m playing with them.  I haven’t decided yet if I want all my day to day tasks in the same place as my notes and bookmarks.  At the moment, Wunderlist is easier to navigate because I have fewer lists there than I do notebooks in Evernote

I also really like Google Keep for many of the same reasons I like Wunderlist, but lately it’s been giving me fits when I try to open it from a link on my desktop, and it’s been difficult to load in Chrome, as well.  Not sure if it’s in an update process or what, but it bugs me.  Besides, it’s nice to have back-ups and alternatives.  Smile

Do you have a favorite task app that makes your life easier?  If you do, please share what it is!

All rights reserved by Vanessence

11 thoughts on “hAPPy Monday

  1. Wunderlist is great on the desktop too. I used it for a while to make to-do lists for programming tasks I had to finish. Then I started making lists for the things I had to do INSIDE the programs. Then I started making steps of the steps. And then, of course, I wasn’t doing any actual work, just making lists. *Sigh*

    But it was great. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great review, Ness! I may not get to Wunderlist only because I’m invested in Evernote AND Trello is saving my tail! I used it at the Press Publish Phoenix event and was so grateful for it!

    Speaking of the event, I did figure out why I was having trouble with the header and now I’m challenging myself to find something at home, something personal, to use. Thanks so much for encouraging me! Keep me honest, will you? If I don’t get one up with 2 weeks, call me on it 😀 Have a great week ❤

    Like

    1. I’m a firm believer in using what works, Angie, and if Evernote works for you, then you should stick with it. 🙂 Sometimes, people like to shake things up a bit, find a new tool that might be more useful, that kind of thing. Evernote has some great points but I’m having trouble embracing it for some reason. So I keep looking around to see what’s out there. 🙂

      Yay for figuring out what the issue was with the headers! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! I’ll try to remind you in a couple weeks, and I’ll try not to nag. 😉 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Nag away, my friend!!! I have so much invested in Evernote that I’ll stay, yet I’m finding good luck working on Trello with Dave. If this continues, it will be a miracle!

        Like

  3. I am currently using Evernote for grocery lists, to-do, and reminders, mainly because it is the most flexible across platforms. I have Mac at home, PC at work, and Android in between. But if you say Wanderlust is good, I might look into it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Evernote is a great tool for a lot of people, for many of the reasons you mention. I wish it had more visual cues instead of all the text, and more options to personalize, but for function – it’s good at what it does. 🙂

      Wunderlist also goes across all platforms, like Evernote. I’m finding that it has easy-to-use collaboration features, and things like reminders, and folders, too. And it doesn’t feel so … like this huge wall of text lists like Evernote does for me.

      I’ve also been playing with Trello, but I might leave that for more project oriented things. 🙂

      Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

