Posted in Current Events, In The Media

In The Media

I caught this article as I was browsing the news a few days ago, and I was kind of stunned.  A dad got a bill when his kid didn’t show up to another kids’ birthday party.  For real?  I know some mail-order companies do that – remember the old Columbia House record club?  You signed up, and every month they sent you a little postcard telling you what the next month’s album was, and you were going to get it and be charged for it whether you wanted it or not, unless you sent the stupid postcard back.  I never knew anyone who appreciated the way that worked. 

That’s what I was reminded of when I read this article.  Someone invites your child to a party, and if your kid doesn’t show up, you get a bill.  The case in the linked article has had “small claims court” tossed around, too.  People don’t even do that for no-shows at wedding receptions!  I totally get the courtesy of an RSVP, but to threaten to sue over it?  That just seems beyond reasonable.

Is this way over the top or what?  Perhaps I’m out of touch here.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done birthday party stuff like that, probably since I was five, so maybe times have changed and children’s birthday parties that cost more than wedding receptions are standard now, I don’t know.  I know I’m a bit of a miser, but still.  This seems out of line. 

What are your thoughts?  Would you send someone a bill if they didn’t show up to your party?

All rights reserved by Vanessence

 

Dad gets ‘no-show’ bill after son, 5, misses birthday party

LONDON – It was not what Derek Nash expected to find in his 5-year-old’s school bag: A bill demanding a “no-show fee” for another child’s birthday party.

[…]

Nash says Lawrence has threatened him with small claims court but he has no plans so far to pay.

via Dad gets ‘no-show’ bill after son, 5, misses birthday party | Fox News.

10 thoughts on “In The Media

What Are Your Thoughts?

