Posted in Funnies, Jokes, Laughing

Funnies

 

When Insults Had Class

 

These glorious insults are from an era before the English language became boiled down to 4-letter words

“He had delusions of adequacy.” – Walter Kerr

“I didn’t attend the funeral, but I sent a nice letter saying I approved of it.” – Mark Twain.

“He has no enemies, but is intensely disliked by his friends..” -Oscar Wilde.

“I feel so miserable without you; it’s almost like having you here.” – Stephen Bishop.

“I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening. But this wasn’t it.” – Groucho

*****

Oh how I wish I had the wit to think of lines like this on my own!  One of my favorite lines comes from a story about the actress Jean Harlow, and the Lady Margot Asquith. 

According to a Hollywood legend there was a pointed verbal encounter between the movie siren Jean Harlow and the sharp-tongued English aristocrat Margot Asquith. When Harlow attended a party given by Asquith, the movie star presumptuously referred to the hostess by her first name, and she repeatedly mispronounced it as “Margott”, i.e., she pronounced a “t” at the end of the name. Eventually, Asquith responded with a squelcher:

     “No, no, Jean. The ‘t’ is silent, as in Harlow.”

I laughed and laughed the first time I ever read that story.  Smile

Have a wonderful weekend!

All rights reserved by Vanessence

image

The t is silent, as in Harlow.

2 thoughts on “Funnies

What Are Your Thoughts?

